1995 UNIDROIT CONVENTION ON STOLEN OR ILLEGALLY EXPORTED CULTURAL OBJECTS

Declarations made by States at the time of ratification/accession ¹ (as of January 2025)

State Party	Article 3(5)	Article 13(3)	Article 14	Article 16(1)(a) *	Article 16(1)(b) *	Article 16(1)(c) *	Article 16(2)	Article 17 **
	Time limitation	Deconnexion clause	Territorial application	Directly to courts or other authorities	Through an authority	Diplomatic channels	Designated competent court or authority to order restitution/return	Export legislation
Afghanistan				V	v			V
Algeria					V	٧		V
Angola						٧		V
Argentina						٧		V
Azerbaijan					V	٧	٧	V
Benin					V	٧		V
Bolivia				٧				V
Bosnia- Herzegovina								
Federation				V		V		V
 Rep. of Srpska 				V	V	V		V
Brčko District				V	V	V		V
Botswana				v				V
Brazil				٧				V
Burkina Faso				٧	V	٧		V
Cambodia						٧		V
China	V			V	v			V
Colombia						٧		V
Croatia						٧		V
Cyprus				V				V
Côte d'Ivoire						٧		V
Denmark			v	V				V

¹ Declarations are notified to the Depositary of the Convention which is the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation. The information in this table are those available to the UNIDROIT Secretariat.

^{*} The declaration under Article 16(1) is compulsory at the time of ratification or accession.

^{**} The declaration under Article 17 is compulsory no later than 6 months after the deposit of the instrument of ratification or accession.

STATE PARTY	ARTICLE 3(5)	ARTICLE 13(3) Deconnexion clause	ARTICLE 14	ARTICLE 16(1)(a) *	ARTICLE 16(1)(b) *	ARTICLE 16(1)(C) * Diplomatic	ARTICLE 16(2) Designated competent	ARTICLE 17 ** Export legislation
			application	courts or other authorities	authority	channels	court or authority to order restitution/return	
Ecuador	٧			٧	V	V		٧
El Salvador						٧		٧
Finland		V		٧	V			٧
Gabon								
Ghana					V	٧		٧
Greece		V			V			٧
Guatemala	٧				V			٧
Honduras								٧
Hungary					V	٧		٧
Iran				٧		V		V
Italy		v		٧		V	V	٧
Lao People's Democratic								
Republic						V		۷
Latvia				۷				
Lithuania					V			V
Madagascar						٧		٧
Mexico				٧		۷		V
Montenegro						۷		
Morocco					V		٧	٧
Myanmar	۷					۷		V
New Zealand					V	V		V
Nigeria								
North Macedonia				٧		٧		٧
Norway		V	٧	٧				٧
Panama					V	V		V
Paraguay						√		V
Peru				٧		√		V
Portugal					v			V
Romania					V			٧
Slovakia						V		V

State Party	Article 3(5)	Article 13(3)	Article 14	Article 16(1)(a) *	Article 16(1)(b) *	Article 16(1)(c) *	Article 16(2)	Article 17 **
	Time limitation	Deconnexion clause	Territorial application	Directly to courts or other authorities	Through an authority	Diplomatic channels	Designated competent court or authority to order restitution/return	Export legislation
Slovenia					٧			٧
South Africa						٧		٧
Spain		٧			٧			٧
Sweden		٧		٧	V			٧
Syrian Arab Republic						V		V
Тодо				٧		٧		٧
Tunisia				٧		٧		٧
Uruguay						٧		٧
Yemen						٧		√

Declarations made by States at the time of signature

State Party	Article 3(5)	Article 13(3)	Article 14	Article 16(1)(a) *	Article 16(1)(b) *	Article 16(1)(c) *	Article 16(2)	Article 17 **
	Time limitation	Deconnexion clause	Territorial application	Directly to courts or other authorities	Through an authority	Diplomatic channels	Designated competent court or authority to order restitution/return	Export legislation
Netherlands ²	٧	٧						

² The Netherlands is a Signatory State. The Convention is not in force for the Netherlands until they ratify the Convention (Article 11(2)).