

## INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR THE UNIFICATION OF PRIVATE LAW INSTITUT INTERNATIONAL POUR L'UNIFICATION DU DROIT PRIVE

OTIF



ORGANISATION INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE POUR LES TRANSPORTS INTERNATIONAUX FERROVIAIRES

ZWISCHENSTAATLICHE ORGANISATION FÜR DEN INTERNATIONALEN EISENBAHNVERKEHR

INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANISATION FOR INTERNATIONAL CARRIAGE BY RAIL

DIPLOMATIC CONFERENCE TO ADOPT A
RAIL PROTOCOL TO THE CONVENTION
ON INTERNATIONAL INTERESTS IN MOBILE
EQUIPMENT

Luxembourg, 12 to 23 February 2007

UNIDROIT/OTIF 2007 DCME-RP - Doc. 46 Original: English 27 February 2007

## **SUMMARY OF THE DECISIONS TAKEN ON 23 FEBRUARY 2007**

- 1. Following consultations, upon a proposal moved jointly by the delegations of the United States of America and Luxembourg, the Conference decided to adopt a new Article XV(5), as also an additional Resolution, Resolution No. 6 concerning the regimen of the Registrar's liability under that Article. The delegations of Finland and Sweden indicated that they saw this new provision as answering the concerns expressed on 21 February by certain delegations regarding the previous version of this paragraph.
- 2. As thus amended, the Luxembourg Protocol to the Convention on International Interests in Mobile Equipment on Matters specific to Railway Rolling Stock was adopted by the Conference.
- 3. Immediately prior to the ceremony during which the Final Act of the diplomatic Conference was signed and the aforementioned Protocol opened to signature, the Chairman of the Credentials Committee announced that that Committee had held a final meeting that morning and examined the credentials of three new States, which had been found to have been presented in due and proper form. The representatives of 42 States had, therefore, participated in the Conference, 35 of which had presented credentials in due and proper form.
- 4. The representative of Germany, speaking on behalf of his Government, as holders of the Presidency of the European Union, stated that Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom, as member States of the European Community, would declare, when and if they signed the Final Act and the Protocol, that, in accordance with the Treaty establishing the European Community, the latter had competence over certain matters governed by the Protocol.

- 5. Thereafter, the representatives of 29 Governments (Algeria, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Moldova, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Qatar, the Russian Federation, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the United States of America and Vietnam), having presented credentials in due and proper form, signed the Final Act and the representatives of four Governments (Gabon, Italy (with declaration), Luxembourg (with declaration) and Switzerland (ad referendum)), having presented Full Powers, signed the Protocol.
- 6. The President of the Conference expressed his gratitude to all those whose hard work had contributed to the success of the Conference and declared the Conference closed.